Big Decisions – ie “What do I Want to Be When I Grow Up?”

For the past few months I’ve been going back and forth about whether or not I want to go back to school for photography. I’m just not sure.

On one hand, I’d love to be a classically trained photographer. What I’d be learning in my classes would give me a leg up over some of my business competition. I’d make some great connections and have more opportunities open to me. I have also found that I really love fashion/headshot/model photography and this would open up possibilities in these areas even more.

Then on the other hand I’d be investing a lot of time and money that I could spend on just building my business. With the advent of the digital age a strong handful of people in my industry are self-educated. I’m personally a pretty good self-learner, and I wonder what I would gain from these classes over just reading the material on my own and practicing. A benefit used to be being able to use the school’s studio space and lighting equipment, but I have an arrangement right now that already gives me acces to those things.

So, I have a lot of thinking to do. I’m glad that I put this decision on “the list” because it’s actually going to force me to make one.

About nduff

Pretty much the coolest nerd you'll ever meet. ;)
This entry was posted in Goals and Progress, Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

