So I Went to a Photography Workshop

Last night I went to a workshop for “Starting a Photography Business”. It was put on by my local photography group, and in my opinion I paid decently for it.

I could cross it off my list, but I’m not going to. The reason why; I don’t feel like I learned much at all. I was pretty disappointed. The advice, at least the way I heard it was:

  • You’ll need to become a legal business that pays taxes, see a lawyer and they’ll set you up with everything.
  • You’ll need to brand yourself, see a marketing professional and they’ll set you up with everything.
  • You’ll need to do your taxes, see an accountant and they’ll set you up with everything.

There’s obviously a trend to the advice given last night. I’m not going to discuss if I feel the above advice is correct, but what I will say is that it’s frustrating to go into an educational setting only to be instructed to “find the information elsewhere.” I still have the same questions about running a business that I did before I stepped into the classroom.

Well, I guess if there is one positive to come from this it’s the reassurance that I am fairly prepared for taking the next steps.

About nduff

Pretty much the coolest nerd you'll ever meet. ;)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So I Went to a Photography Workshop

  1. Brooke says:

    You know, I’ve been doing some digging in about doing photography on the side and reading that you paid for a workshop and that’s all they told you, I’d be pissed. A workshop is not supposed to tell you what do but how to do it. I have to say the best advice I’ve received so far is from other photographers. Granted, I still know very little and am scared as shit but knowing that they built something from nothing and have succeeded gives me faith in the advice they do share. I was afraid to ask at first but then a friend told me something: if someone does something they love, they usually can’t wait to talk about it. She was right.

Leave a Reply

