#22 – Send a Mother’s Day Card with a Sweet Note and Flowers to Grandma and Mom

Every year, for the past nine years, my mother’s day routine has been the same: send flowers from the local florist and call mom and grandma to wish them a happy day. Not that there’s anything wrong with this, but after thinking about it seems a bit impersonal since nothing really expresses how I feel. That’s why I decided this year that along with the normal flowers I would also send a note mentioning how much I really care about them and how grateful I am for everything they’ve done.

Well, the bad news is that I didn’t send flowers this year. The good news is, I didn’t send them because I was able to deliver them in person! Due to work/travel/or various reasons other years, this was the first Mother’s day I was able to spend with my family in 9 years. Hubby and I drove up on Friday night and basically spent the whole time with my mom and grandma. It was a jam-packed Saturday that included grocery shopping, a pool tournament, lasagna dinner, and taking mom to see Ironman 2. Sunday we had breakfast,  visited grandpa and auntie’s grave, gave my mom and grandma their gifts/cards with sweet sentiments included, and got on the road early so we could spend the rest of the day with Hubby’s mom.

It was an absolutely wonderful Mother’s day weekend, and I’m so grateful I was able to spend it with my family.

I took this photo of my Grandma when she was cleaning up dishes and I just adore it:

About nduff

Pretty much the coolest nerd you'll ever meet. ;)
This entry was posted in Goals and Progress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

