#45 – Adopt a Little Sister with Big Brothers/Big Sisters

#45 is definitely something I had wanted to do for a while. Sure, it’s important to mentor and educate younger generations and it’s nice to provide a non-family or peer outlet where a child can go for advice. Really though, having someone to do childish things with sounds like a lot of fun.

The process to become a “Big” was actually a little more intense than I originally thought. Before you’re even accepted you attend an orientation and training session, have an interview with someone from BBBS, go through a very thorough background check, and provide five references. I started the process in February and was matched to my little in the middle of April. It’s a one year commitment (minimum), meeting once or twice a month, that can go for as long and you and your little want it to. To learn more about a BBBS program in your area, click here.

Out of respect for my Little’s privacy I’m not going to post much about her. What I will say is that she’s 8 years old, incredibly vivacious, and she wants to be a singer/actress when she grows up. We had our first “alone” meeting just last week and it went great. I had to laugh when we were going through a list of things to do and she mentions, “we can’t go to the library, they make you be quiet there.”Ā  She kind of reminds me of someone that I know. šŸ˜‰

About nduff

Pretty much the coolest nerd you'll ever meet. ;)
This entry was posted in Goals and Progress and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #45 – Adopt a Little Sister with Big Brothers/Big Sisters

  1. mouse7701 says:

    Awesome! Congratulations šŸ™‚ Sounds like a perfect fit!

  2. maineacalum says:

    I love being a Big Sister! Perfect outlet for all my childlike impulses while making a difference at the same time. Good work promoting this great volunteer opportunity!

Leave a Reply

