I Heart Faces Fix-It Friday!

It’s time for another I Heart Faces Fix-It Friday!!

Like I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I Heart Faces is a fantastic, interactive photography/editing blog. Every Friday they have something called  “Fix-It-Friday” where they post an image for you to edit. They also have contributors who explain how they “fixed-up” the photo so it’s an opportunity to learn new techniques. Other readers also post their links to edits so you get a huge variety of editing solutions.

Check out this week’s challenge and all the other beautiful edits here:

This weeks original:

My edit:

I played with levels and curves to get the color and contrast looking appealing. The girl’s mother, who submitted the photo, had said that she wanted to see smooth skin so I used the Patch tool all over the face to remove blemishes (and a stray hair that was going right across the forehead). After I had removed the blemishes, I selected the face, duplicated my layer, set a layer mask for the face only and applied a surface blur. I immensely lowered the opacity and further masked out the eyes and lips. Really, if it hadn’t been requested I probably would have stayed away from the blur but I do like how it turned out.

Because I like style: 😉

Added later:
I usually don’t revisit my Fix-It-Friday edits, but I really wasn’t happy with my B/W conversion. After reading Janine’s comment I decided I needed to go back to work.
Here’s what I came up with:
I feel this is a much prettier conversion and it definitely saves more of the details. That said, it’s still not perfect (or even near), so like always please feel free to offer your advice!

About nduff

Pretty much the coolest nerd you'll ever meet. ;)
This entry was posted in Goals and Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Heart Faces Fix-It Friday!

  1. Janine says:

    I really like the first faded edit! the vignette works well there and I usually hate them.
    in your B&W her skin looks blown out and a bit unnatural, and it feels like a lot of the detail in the door frame was lost. take with a grain of salt though because I am not calibrated.
    nice job!

  2. Ashley says:

    I like your first vintage edit, but I might tone down the vignette. I always lower mine so it’s subtle. Overall though, really nice work.

  3. Stephanie says:

    Oo your edits are great!! Love the first one with the vintage feeling!! I love such edits!!
    Have a nice weekend!!

  4. RM @ LMMP Photography says:

    I like the second one after the paragraph (about style).

    The top and lips really pop with color. 🙂

  5. Melissa says:

    This is so neat! Those photos are like night & day. The girl is obviously pretty, but you really helped knock her out of the park further down. Maybe I need someone to edit all my photos of me before I put them anywhere on the internet 😀

  6. Amy says:

    I really like your edits. You did a great job with her face. The vignette and the vintage one are really nice too.

Leave a Reply

