#16 – Make and Surprise Him with a Lunch for Work

Unlike myself my dear hubby is incredibly diligent about bringing his own lunch to work. This is one situation where I admire his sense of financial responsibility, or what I normally call cheapness. Every night he spends up to half an hour making a sandwich and assembling other parts of his lunch and I just wish I had that kind of dedication to saving a few dollars. In an effort to let him relax, to do something nice, and to show that although I might tease him for pinching pennies I admire him for it; I decided to make his lunch for him.

The perfect night to relieve him of his lunch making duties popped up a couple weeks ago – he had a new South Park to watch and was just coming off of a really busy day. I told him, “oh, you don’t need to worry about making lunch for tomorrow, I have it covered.” What was so funny to me is after I went to make his lunch I basically had to push him out of the kitchen. He wanted to know what I was putting in it, if he could help with anything, if I was including anything cool he could trade with the person in the cube next to him. I pushed him out with, “I love you and I’ll handle this, go watch some hilarious 4th graders that are drawn poorly.”

I actually had started piecing together his lunch the weekend prior. When I had went home I stopped at a gas station that had a great 2 for 1 deal on liters of pop so I grabbed him a Mt. Dew. I also saved him part of the Hershey’s bar I bought at the same time, unfortunately I left it in my car and the temperature  reached over 60 degrees for the first time since last October.

The main part of the lunch was two slices of delicious chicken afredo pizza that I had “made” for dinner. I sliced up some celery and slathered on some peanut butter for extra numminess. Add to those things a bag of Pringles Stix and a couple of Girl Scout cookies (instead of the melted chocolate), top with a slice of strudel and you have lunch. Of course I had to brown-bag everything, wrote his name on the bag in big letters, and dotted the “i” with a heart.

I was surprised how appreciative he was of this. He never really sends text messages during work hours, but he sent one that day to thank me for the tasty lunch and to let me know he was currently enjoying his large mountain dew.  He also thanked me when he saw me at home that night even though he had thanked me when he left for work. It really made me feel like the little bit of work I did was worth it and I plan on making his lunch for him on occasion from now on. I could tell he really enjoyed it.

About nduff

Pretty much the coolest nerd you'll ever meet. ;)
This entry was posted in Goals and Progress and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to #16 – Make and Surprise Him with a Lunch for Work

  1. Joe McBee says:

    I can’t believe the guy in the cube next to him didn’t mess with him about the heart-dotted “i.” Then again, he was probably just jealous.

    Nicely done.

  2. janekchun says:

    thank you for checking out my blog! that was very nice of you to make your husband an awesome lunch. im sure his cube mate was green with envy.

  3. tragicdreams says:

    Thank you for dropping by my blog. I love your minimalist lay-out. Anyways, good luck, and I hope you can do everything in your list in 1 year. I’ll be checking your progress 🙂

  4. Loooove the blog. I love to see people writting out goals and doing them! Honestly, making a lunch for someone is a really awesome way to say “hey… I love you”. Super awesome, I’ll be following and thanks for stopping by my blog!

  5. That’s a sweet idea. I normally just make enough food the night before and pray that he takes some for work the next day, this is definitely a cute way to say “i appreciate you.”

  6. tzhang71 says:

    your husband is VERY lucky! =)
    these are all great ideas you have here
    thanks for sharing

    http://www.tracyzhangphoto.wordpress.com/

  7. Allison says:

    What a cool basis for a blog! Making it public like this seems like a really good way to make sure you achieve all these goals too.

    Your husband is a lucky guy. My dad always used to make lunches for my mom and brother and I and I used to think, I need to find someone that does this in the future!

  8. angelcel says:

    Little gestures really do mean a lot and show someone that you really do love them without a word being uttered. 🙂

  9. islesam says:

    This is super sweet! I surprised The Boyfriend at work once with a picnic lunch. Worked out well because he works weekends & I work weekdays, so it was a lovely little visit. And he was stoked. Beef stew & cheesecake? I won for like… a week.

Leave a Reply

