#2 – Run a Mile in Under 10 Minutes

I know, to the runners out there a 10 minute mile isn’t a big accomplishment. To me, it’s HUGE.

I am not a runner, heck, I’m lucky to be a jogger. Blame it on short legs, small lungs, or the rain but I can’t run to save my life (and fortunately I haven’t had to). I have always had a great amount of respect for those who can and have admired how they’re able to look so cheetah-like as they’re pounding the pavement or the treadmill.

My inspiration:

Wanting to push myself a little I set a goal of being able to run a 10 minute mile. Usually I do a mile in about 12 minutes so this would definitely be progress.

The other night I got on the treadmill and started to jog at my normal pace of 4.5 MPH. For whatever reason, it felt very easy and very good. I wondered, could this be THE night? Could I kick it up and see if I could actually get in a 10 min mile?? I pushed my speed it to 6.5 MPH and was surprised that it was actually very doable. Well, for the first 4 or so minutes. Then I became so winded that I had to kick it down to 5 MPH. Darn it, my goal just fell through my fingers, better luck next time. Again, something great happened, after 45 seconds or so though I felt good again and rejuvenated. I’m no math wiz but I did figure out at this point I could still get the 10 minute mile, I would just have to really crank it up. So after some (very moving and captivating) inner dialogue, to 8 MPH I went.

I don’t know why, but running 8 MPH actually seemed easier than 6.5. I definitely started to get winded but I just focused on other things and before I knew it the odometer said 1.02 miles and the clock was at 9:56. I actually did my 10 minute mile. Hallelujah!

Seriously, I felt that I should get an award or something. I was looking for Bob Costas expecting to do our interview and planning my victory speech. The thrill of doing something that I never really felt I could do was just amazing.

So, now just a few pats on the back and on to the next challenge. Two ten minute miles back to back? A nine minute mile???

Slight sidenote:
Since the beginning of running, four minute miles were though to be impossible, this was confirmed by both scientific and athletic communities. Then in 1954 Roger Bannister ran the first four minute mile and within months others were doing the same. It’s now the standard for professional middle distance runners. Just goes to show you that sometimes the only obstacle is in our mind.

About nduff

Pretty much the coolest nerd you'll ever meet. ;)
This entry was posted in Goals and Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #2 – Run a Mile in Under 10 Minutes

  1. Jessie says:

    Awesome! Congrats. I have decided to run a 5k in May. I have played around with running off and on for a few years now. I had gotten to the point that I could run 6 miles a day, then injured myself. I began work, nursed the injury, and basically quit running for a year. I just began again and realized how much I have missed it! I have always wanted to race (dream of a marathon one day), so the 5k it is. I have 6 weeks to go. My goal is to be able to run 10 minute miles for the 5k.

    I might give it a try to run one of my miles in 10 minutes today. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. Mrs. Q says:

    Congratulations on your achievement! Sometimes the harder part is keeping it up! (if you so desire :P)

    I turned myself into a runner about 18 months ago and never looked back (except when I had to yell at my husband to catch up!). Meeting time goals and setting PRs sure feel good!

  3. Joe McBee says:

    I LOVE the whole idea of your list. This is awesome. I am totally ripping it off for my own blog. Of course I will give you full credit and a link. This is so much better than setting up boring goals and such. I might actually be able to get stuff done in a format like this.

    Thanks! I can’t wait to read more.

Leave a Reply

