#9 – Drink 8 glasses of Water a Day for a Week Straight

I am not a water person in the slightest. Given a choice, it’s always pretty much anything but water: tea, coffee, pop, lemonade, beer, etc.  I don’t know why, but I just really dislike drinking water. That said, I definitely understand the benefits of water and realize that my aversion needed to be “cured” in order to become a healthier person.

Just a few of the benefits of drinking water I found online:

  • Transport nutrients and oxygen into cells
  • Moisturizes the air in lungs
  • Helps with metabolism and weight-loss
  • Protects our vital organs
  • Helps our organs to absorb nutrients better
  • Regulates body temperature
  • Detoxifies
  • Protects and moisturizes our joints

So I made it one of my goals to go an entire week drinking the recommended amount (8 glasses) of water each day. I figured this would be long enough time that I would recognize the benefits and be willing to make it a permanent change.

I did notice a difference. Part of it could be attributed to the fact that I was just ending my 28 days of only one cup a coffee a day, but I definitely felt healthier. My skin didn’t seem as dry, I was in an overall better mood, and it seemed like work-out soreness decreased.

I’d love to say that I now religiously drink my 8 cups a day. Well, that’s not quite the case. That said, I am becoming a lot better at making sure I get 6-7 cups (a lot of times hitting the 8 cup mark). Compared to my 1 or 2 cups before, this is a definite improvement.

So, cheers to water, or aqua vitae!!

About nduff

Pretty much the coolest nerd you'll ever meet. ;)
This entry was posted in Goals and Progress and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #9 – Drink 8 glasses of Water a Day for a Week Straight

  1. Mayumi says:

    Thank you for this post! I can see how challenging it is to drink plenty of water every day, as I’m not a water person so much 😦 At the same time, I know how good it can be as you list the benefits of drinking water. I think I should challenge myself to start drinking 8 cups of water and it should be one of my goals! Thank you again!

  2. Viv says:

    great post! i usually milk a large dunkin donuts coffee throughout the day and barely get any water in my system. i then top it off with drinking soda when i get home. i constantly have dry skin which i blame on the insane amounts of caffeine i consume. you have inspired me and i think i’m going to try this experiment this week and see what happens! :o)

Leave a Reply

