#61 – Go to Five Restaurants That are New to Me

I am a huge foodie. I love restaurants and if I could I would go out to eat 7 nights a week. That’s why challenge #61, Go to five restaraunts that are new to me was super appealing (and also why it’s the hobbies category). It would give me a change to try out restaurants I’ve also wanted to and maybe stumble onto my next “gem.”

Here’s the list of restaurants I went to to fulfill my “challenge”:

Ansari’s Grill
1960 Rahncliff Ct.

Eag
an, MN 55122
www.ansarisgrill.com

This was absolutely delightful!! I had been wanting to try Mediterranean food for a while, and this was a great first experience. I had the Mezza Plate, and it was absolutely delicious. I even received a free upgrade because the chef accidentally gave me the dinner size instead of the lunch size. Everyone else at the table (hubby plus his aunt/uncle) were incredibly impressed and happy with their meals as well. We’ll definitely be going back.


Jimmy’s Food and Drink
1132 County Road East E
St Paul, MN 55110
www.visitjimmy’s.com

We went here right after doing the Polar Bear Plunge. For starters, this place is huge! Definitely great for large groups or events. The food was very good, standard bar fare. I would definitely go back, more for a fun place to hang out than for blow-your-mind-food. It’s pretty much exactly what you’d expect and that’s fine by me.



Sus
hi Tango
3001 H
ennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55408-3270

www.sushitango.com

Went here for happy hour with a group of girls. Great decor, pleasant staff and great happy hour specials. I also love they serve sashimi, which isn’t always common in the sushi places in Minnesota.  To be honest though, I’ve had better sushi. It wasn’t bad, but it really was a bit flavorless. I could just be a sushi snob though since the other girls really liked their meals, they also all had maki while I had sashimi so maybe rolls were just a better option. For happy hour I would definitely go back, the prices definitely warrant it. (Note: if you’re looking for other great sushi places in the Minneapolis area check out Nami, Origami, and Fuji-Ya – absolutely divine.)



Billy’s on Grand
857 Grand Avenue
St Paul, MN 55105
www.billysongrand.com

I went to Billy’s with a group of girls on a Friday night for dinner and drinks. It’s a bit of a St. Paul staple so I’d been wanting to go for awhile and I wasn’t disappointed. Great sports bar atmosphere and fantastic food. I ordered the Southwest Chicken and it was delicious, it also came with some of the best kettle chips I’ve had in a while. The image above is of the brie they offer, and of the cute little mini-bagels they give you to spread it on (along with sliced apples). Another bonus for larger groups, in their back barroom they have large round tables that can seat up to 10 which allowed everyone in our group to equally be involved in the conversation. I’m actually pretty excited to go back here.



El Loro
Hwy 13 S,
Savage, MN
www.elloromn.com

We went here for a friend’s birthday, with a group of ten, on a Wednesday night. I had actually called that morning and was easily able to make reservations. This is by far the best mexican restaurant I’ve been to in the Minneapolis area. My fajita was to die for! The meat was absolutely cooked and flavored perfectly and the extras were fresh and tasty. The staff was incredibly friendly, although a bit slow, which was fine with us and could have been on purpose since we were enjoying socializing.  I can see myself dragging my husband here in the near future.


So my dining  adventure is complete! Well, kind of, I actually already have another restaurant to add to the list, you very well might see a blog about that in the future. 🙂

About nduff

Pretty much the coolest nerd you'll ever meet. ;)
This entry was posted in Goals and Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

