#8 – Complete the 30 Day Shred

In an attempt to jump-start my metabolism and begin toning my body I took on the challenge of completing Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred.

The idea behind the program is that you work out for 20 minutes each day for 30 days and in the end you’ll have a body like Jillian.
There are 3 different Levels to the program, with the workouts getting progressively harder each time you move up a Level. Each Level is comprised of a warm-up, 3 minutes of strength training, 2 minutes of cardio, and 1 minute of ab work. Jillian also has two incredibly fit and perky helpers; one who does the workouts as intended and one who does modified versions (translation: easier) of the more difficult moves. Basically, you get Jillian as your personal trainer for 30 days for the low price of $10 which is pretty awesome.

So the Amazon.com explanation of the program finished, my personal views after completing all 30 days are as follows:

  • Gillian is a liar. Okay, that might be a bit harsh, but it’s also a bit true. For starters, not to nit-pick but none of the workouts are 20 minutes, they actually all total around 25. I’m not sure if the extra 5 minutes is for transitions between moves or if Jillian is trying to sneak in a little extra workout (she is evil like that). Also, several times throughout the video she’ll say “just a couple more” proceed to talk for twenty seconds and then follow that with, “and 4, 3, 2, and you’re done.” Someone needs to explain to her that 15 does not equal “a couple.”
  • These are tough but doable workouts that really do make a difference. I really felt like I had been put through a good workout when I finished each one. I also think that Gillian does a great job of building onto each previous workout. An example, in Level 3 she even brings back some of the cardio moves from Level 1 and 2 but adds weights to make them more difficult.
  • Wanting to curse out Jillian is par for the course, so is developing colorful nicknames for her. That said, she’s incredibly patient and motivating and really pulling for you to succeed.
  • When the 30 days are over, you feel  absolutely fantastic. I feel so much stronger and healthier, not to mention quite a bit lighter.

My results:
My total weight loss was 10 pounds, not bad for 30 days. As great as that is, I actually don’t feel it’s a good indicator of my progress. I feel I just LOOK so much slimmer and more toned. I can also see the beginning of a six-pack (seriously) which is something I’ve never had before. I do have to mention that the 30 Day Shred isn’t 100% responsible for my transformation. I adopted a healthier diet plus I included an extra 30 mins of cardio 3-5 times a week.

My Before Photo:
My After Photo:
The difference in the stomach area and the hips are pretty noticeable (at least I think so). There’s also a small difference in the arms. A six-pack is honestly also starting to peak out underneath a layer of remaining chub.

So, this has been a great kick-start to living a healthier lifestyle and getting my former “hot” body back. Now I’m just excited to see more results. As far as the future’s concerned, I’m sure I’ll be visiting Jillian on occasion and I might even decide to do the whole 30 Days again.

About nduff

Pretty much the coolest nerd you'll ever meet. ;)
This entry was posted in Goals and Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #8 – Complete the 30 Day Shred

  1. memrieking says:

    I love this post, what an brave and adventurous soul you are.

  2. IUdaughter says:

    Wow!! Great job! You are right, I can definitely see results. I need to take before/after pics!!! Very motivating

  3. islesam says:

    The change is definitely noticeable! Congratulations! Maybe I need to pick up a copy to jumpstart my own transformations to pre-baby physique. For $10, who can pass on that?

Leave a Reply

