#44 – Do the Polar Bear Plunge

The Polar Bear Plunge is a charity event for the Special Olympics of MN. Basically you fund-raise and promise to jump into 20 degree (or colder) water during Minnesota winter. It’s not quite as crazy as it sounds. Well, maybe it is, but it’s still something I’ve been wanting to do pretty much my entire life.

When I found out a girl’s group I’m involved in was going to take the Plunge I decided that it was now or never. I signed up, raised my donation, and started to put together my costume. Oh yes, one of the best parts of the Plunge are the fantastic costumes people come up with. We decided to go as “Hot and Sasssy” Tabasco bottles.

The Plunge was this past Saturday, and it was such a great experience. 12 of us jumped, and even more showed up just to watch (and laugh). The water was cold, but it wasn’t unbearable. I am really happy I did it, and it proved to me that a person can pretty much handle anything if they just jump into it.

Here are some photos from the plunge and of my team:
to maintain some anonymity, all I’ll say is that I’m NOT in every photo

About nduff

Pretty much the coolest nerd you'll ever meet. ;)
This entry was posted in Goals and Progress and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #44 – Do the Polar Bear Plunge

  1. Honey Conlan says:

    Heya i got to your site by mistake when i was searching bing for something off topic here but i do have say your site is really helpful, like the theme and the content on here…so thanks for me procrastinating from my previous task, lol

Leave a Reply

