January’s Recap

Wow, it’s been a month already!!! I am really enjoying this journey!! I feel it’s really been pushing me to become a better person and making myself take steps to a better life.

I’ve completely 9 tasks this month, which if you figure each task on the list gets 3.65 days to complete I am actually 3 days ahead of schedule!! What I accomplished this month:
– Cook a meal of his choice from our Italian cookbook
– Attend 1 networking event
– Edit someone else’s photo
– Create a chore list for the house
– Start a Blog
– Join a book club
– Go out at night in flat shoes and everyday clothes (inspired by M)
– Play Mah-Jong for an hour (inspired by Gama)
– Create a budget
Are these earth-shattering events? No, not really, a couple of them were rather basic and painless. Did I learn something from each one of them? Will I reap benefits in the future? Did they provide some much-needed tools for managing my life? A resounding, “without a doubt” to all those quesitons. Each task I accomplished helped me to begin shaping a life to be proud of. I will continue to be influenced by these tasks as I complete my list and far into the future.

At the moment I have a few tasks I’m working on: completing the thirty day shred, losing 25 lbs, and reading 30 books off of my “to-read” list.
– Completing the 30 Day Shred is going well, I’m currently on Day 5. I was a little upset at myself though because I was on Day 6 at one point and I let the weekend derail me, pushing me back to Day 1. If it wouldn’t have been for those two days I would currently be on Day 13 and almost halfway done. It was just a reminder about the importance of persistence.
– Losing the 25 lbs however is going fantastic! At the 12 Day mark I am happy to say that I’ve lost 6 lbs! I’ve been doing the 30 Day Shred, heading to the gym 4-5 times a week, and eating very healthy. It’s great to see hard work pay off!
-On my “to-read” list I currently have 3 books at home on that list that I’m actively reading. I also have the “list” transferred to the list on my library account so I can easily request them when I’d like to read them.

As proof that I am carrying my experiences into the future here’s another photo (of someone else’s) that I’ve recently edited, since no post is complete without a photo:

About nduff

Pretty much the coolest nerd you'll ever meet. ;)
This entry was posted in The Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January’s Recap

  1. ashleybowman says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog, yours is very inspiring! It’s amazing how simple tasks that push us out of our comfort zone can teach us so much about ourselves and influence our individual growth. I wish you well on your mission and look forward to reading more about it!

Leave a Reply

