#52 – Edit someone else’s photo

I love photography, it’s definitely a passion I’ve slowly been developing over the years. I also really love taking the time to edit a photo, making something beautiful even more striking.  I’m fortunate that my current job gives me access to and sometimes requires that I play around in Photoshop.  I will often work on my own personal photos and I edited all of my own wedding photos. Eventually I would like to be able to do this on a more professional level.

It would make sense that if I do have higher aspirations for and want to further develop my retouching skills that one of the first steps would actually be to work on a photo that I have no connection to. Editing someone else’s photo not only provides extra challenges (working on their vision not my own), it gives me a pretty impartial critic.

Through the internet I found a project to work on, and a small community of people to give me feedback when I was finished.

Here is the original:
Some complaints: focal point isn’t that well established, the colors are slightly muted, and there is quite a bit of distraction.

Here is my edit:
Adjustments: I created a stronger focal point but putting the entire emphasis on the yellow flowers, I made adjustments to the color to make it pop more, I removed the bright white flash so it wasn’t as distracting, and I used a slight surface blur on select areas to give it a softer look.

I posted the image for others to look at and I’m happy to say that I’m already getting positive feedback. I’m pretty happy with how it turned out and can’t wait to do others.

About nduff

Pretty much the coolest nerd you'll ever meet. ;)
This entry was posted in Goals and Progress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #52 – Edit someone else’s photo

  1. shasta says:

    i enjoy the way this turned out as well. it has an ‘oil painting’ feel to it and the yellow really pops against the darker blue background.
    great work!

  2. Beverley says:

    Thanks for your feedback on my blog!

Leave a Reply

